- N - Z
- Tag Information
Online Tag RenewalsOnline Tag Renewals can be completed by going to the following State website.
To complete the renewal process you will need to have the renewal form that you received by mail from the State of Kansas present to enter the required information online.
Kansas Tag Renewal
The McPherson County Treasurer’s Office is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable.
Motor Vehicle Information
Each year the State sends out courtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. McPherson County handles the initial titling of vehicles, as well as the annual renewals. Once a vehicle is purchased, the new owner has 30 days from date of purchase to bring their documentation into our office to be processed without penalties.
It is a state law that a current insurance card is presented at time of registration.
If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection completed. There is a charge of $20.00 (cash only). A Kansas Highway Patrol Officer MUST do the following inspections: All salvage/non-highway titles - All Lien affidavits, court ordered, etc…- Any special inspections. Contact the highway patrol @ (785) 827-4437 in Salina or (620) 2410-6899.
All vehicles moving into county from out-of-state must also have this inspection completed before registering.
The license plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter in the last name of the first person on the title.
|Last Name Begins With||Tag Expires at Midnight On|
|A||February 28 (or 29)|
Renewals on vehicles 16,000 lbs or more and trailers (excluding travel trailers) are issued beginning January 1 through February 15 (penalties will apply for renewals issued after this date).